It is currently 2018 08 19, 05:51

All times are UTC + 2 hours

Post subject: lithuanian stress and intonation
PostPosted: 2007 11 16, 07:51 

im currently studying lithuanian and i can speak it to a very limited extent. However i am told that my accent is very bad and needs work...

i bought the book called "Beginner's Lithuanian" by Leonardas Dambriunas et. al. In the book stress and intonation is described. They use three indicators for stress `,~, and ' i find these to be very confusing

` is said to stress short vowels ( this one is easy )
~ is said to cause rising intonation... does this mean rising tone and pitch?
' is said to cause falling intonation... does this mean falling tone and pitch?

they give some words as examples

įrašas has an ' on the į
whereas įprastas has an ~ on the į

so in įrašas do you pronounce the į starting with a higher pitch and then lowereing the pitch before finishing the word?

and in įprastas do you pronounce the į starting lower and then raising the pitch?

Im sorry for the lengthy post, but if anyone could clarify this i would greatly appreciate it, as i feel that this is a central element of pronouncing words correctly

Offline Profile  

Post subject:
PostPosted: 2007 11 16, 14:53 
Site Admin

All what you said about intonation is right, but nowadays most people no longer differ between ~ and '. They are only able of doing that in some dialects. Of course, you can train to do this (all Lithuanians are expected to train this), but that wouldn't be what you are looking for to improve your accent.